Friday, July 19, 2013

Next EPA Administrator Gina McCarthy Confirmed 59-40

Jul 18: Four Republicans, joined 53 Democrats and 2 Independents to confirm Regina (Gina) McCarthy, of Massachusetts, to be the next Administrator of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. The four Republicans were Ayotte (R-NH), Corker (R-TN), Flake (R-AZ), and McCain (R-AZ). One lone Democrat, Manchin (D-WV), voted with 39 Republicans against the nomination.

    President Obama issued a statement saying, "I am pleased that today the Senate took bipartisan action to confirm Gina McCarthy as the next Administrator of the Environmental Protection Agency.  With years of experience at the state and local level, Gina is a proven leader who knows how to build bipartisan support for commonsense environmental solutions that protect the health and safety of our kids while promoting economic growth. Over the past four years, I have valued Gina's counsel and I look forward to having her in my Cabinet as we work to slow the effects of climate change and leave a cleaner environment for future generations."

    Fred Krupp, president of Environmental Defense Fund (EDF) said, "We are very gratified the Senate has finally voted to confirm Gina McCarthy as America's new EPA Administrator. McCarthy has always been an ideal candidate for this crucially important job. She has exceptional qualifications and experience, and she has a well-earned reputation for bipartisanship. She has a history of working with both environmental advocates and industry stakeholders, and for pursuing a regulatory approach that is flexible, cost-effective and environmentally effective. It's time to put politics behind us and get to work on the many important issues facing EPA, including implementing key parts of the President's Climate Action Plan. I look forward to working with Gina McCarthy and her staff at EPA to ensure that Americans have a cleaner, healthier environment."

    The American Chemistry Council (ACC) issued a statement saying, "We commend the Senate for confirming Gina McCarthy to head EPA. ACC and its members look forward to working with her to ensure that regulations protect health and the environment while at the same time encouraging innovation, competitiveness and job creation. Stakeholder engagement and reliance on sound science will be essential to the development of balanced environmental rules that, combined with sensible energy policies, will ensure the United States remains an attractive place for manufacturers to invest."

    U.S. Senator David Vitter (R-LA), Ranking Member on the Senate Committee on Environment & Public Works (EPW), delivered a highly critical speech on the Senate Floor during the debate on the nomination and urged his colleagues to vote no on the confirmation of Gina McCarthy.

    Senator Barbara Boxer (D-CA), Chairman of the EPW Committee issued a statement saying, "I am so pleased that the full Senate has confirmed Gina McCarthy to be EPA Administrator, because she is the right person for the job. With more than three decades of public service experience, Gina has a deep understanding that public health and a growing economy depend on clean air and clean water. Gina McCarthy has worked for five Republican Governors and a Democratic President, and she will lead EPA in a way that protects the health and safety of the American people."

    Access the roll call vote on the confirmation (click here). Access a statement from the President (click here). Access the statement from EDF (click here). Access the statement from ACC (click here). Access a video of the Senator Vitter Floor statement (click here). Access the statement from Sen. Boxer (click here). [#All]